Gisselle’s School Field Trip to the Virginia ZOO


I was a little more excited for this field trip than Selle, hence I finally received my new lenses and this was a great opportunity to test them out. The morning started out stormy with thunder and lots of rain. But by departure time the storm was gone,sun was shining, and the temperatures were warm. Alma and I headed to the school and prepared to jump on the school buses to head toward the zoo (I love using school transportation so I don’t have to drive my own car!)

I was pleased how my lenses worked out, although I ruined a few shots for failing to keep the main lense clean. But all in all the following pictures will showcase the trip.

The kids waiting for the bus:

Kids waiting for the buses

I am pretty good at catching the floral pics. Not bad with a wide angle lense.

Gisselle's School Zoo Field Trip (2)

Gisselle's School Zoo Field Trip (8)

The kiddos invading the Zoo!

Gisselle's School Zoo Field Trip (5)

Gisselle's School Zoo Field Trip (7)

The knotty dread goat from out last zoo trip got a buzz cut!

Gisselle's School Zoo Field Trip (12)

This goat shared my feelings this morning!

Gisselle's School Zoo Field Trip (14)

Cool little lizard basking on the glass!

Gisselle's School Zoo Field Trip (19)

The Prairie Dogs were out and very active!

Gisselle's School Zoo Field Trip (26)

The telephoto lense worked well with this American bison

Gisselle's School Zoo Field Trip (29)

This lion was basking. And from the news tonight he is going to be a daddy very soon. His lioness was out of picture range keeping cool! Can’t wait til she has her cubs so I can shoot some cool pics of the babies!

Gisselle's School Zoo Field Trip (36)

Gisselle's School Zoo Field Trip (39)

Ostrich close up

Gisselle's School Zoo Field Trip (52)

Some of Gisselle’s classmates waiting to eat lunch in the park.

Gisselle's School Zoo Field Trip (59)

This little guy Brian is always chatting it up with me everytime I visit Gisselle’s Class. Kinda sad to see him alone on parent involvement days. So I guess you can say he is my little sidekick when I visit. He likes my “big black thing” that takes his picture. Kinda like “magic” he says.

Gisselle's Schoolmate Brian

And last goodbye before spring break. Mrs. Hill: Gisselle’s regular bus driver. She is always good to Selle and us with her lookouts!

Mrs. Hill Gisselle's bus driver

That was our day. We ALL came home and took well deserved naps!!

Leave a Reply

